Vegetarian and Beef Enchiladas

We had company. Usually when we have a few people over I make enchiladas with beef or chicken especially in the winter when we can’t grill. This time one of our guests was a vegetarian. Never let it be said that a southern girl’s hospitality is lacking. Even if she lives in NY now. So I made both beef enchiladas and lentil enchiladas. Here are a few pictures. I didn’t get a completed vegetarian picture before they were all consumed. Sorry. The beef looked pretty though. Both recipes are in this post. Also, I premade the beef enchiladas the night before and sat it out on the counter to warm up a bit while I made the lentil enchiladas and baked both together.

Vegetarian Lentil Enchiladas

(This recipe takes some forethought.  The lentils need to be cooked overnight or during the work day.)

1.5 cups Lentils (I do not know the difference between them and our bag just said lentils.)

1/4 cup chopped Onion

Garlic (to taste)

1 tbsp Chili powder

2 tsp Cumin powder

3 tbsp Veggie broth

3 cups Water

DSC_0048

Combine well in the crock pot and cook overnight or all day on low (8 hours or so). Mine almost burned because I overslept so if you are going to be late….Note to self: add more water. Turn off the crock pot. Next stir it up good. Did you know it really slows down crock pot cooking when we remove the lid to repeatedly stir. I had no idea until I read it in an article. Get out the tortillas. This time I used flour but I really love the corn. If you are using corn I suggest heating up a small pit of oil (couple of drops) and then frying them on each side for a bit. They should bubble a little and will  be super hot to handle. However, no breakage when rolling an enchilada. I wonder if steaming them in the microwave would work too? Something to try. Any type of canned sauce (red or green works). I chose green this time since my beef got red sauce. Once the tortillas are ready, dredge them through the sauce and fill them up with lentils. Place in a 13X9 baking dish until the dish is full pouring the remaining sauce over all the enchiladas. Smother with cheeses (grated Colby jack and crumbled Queso fresco), diced black olives and green onions.

Bake covered at 350 for 30 minutes. If your cheese doesn’t look melted remove the foil and keep an eye on it. The first picture shown has some of the ingredients I used in the Vegetarian recipe like the rice blend. My lentil enchiladas had cilantro, lime rice and sauteed spinach and mushrooms in them. Even the carnivores loved ’em.

beefenchilada

Beef Enchilada Recipe

2 lbs of ground Beef

1 packet Taco seasoning (I like reduced sodium.)

1 can Rotel with lime and cilantro

1 Onion diced

Garlic

1 tsp Hot Paprika or cayenne

2 tsp ground Cumin

Brown beef and onion in a large skillet and drain away fat. Add spices and Rotel. Simmer. Next prepare the tortillas. See recipe above for this. Dredge tortillas in the red sauce then fill with meat and cheese. Place in the pan and repeat until nothing else will fit in the pan. (I had a little meat left over so I placed it on top of the enchiladas.)  Cover with sauce, cheese, olives, and green onion. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes covered. Uncover for a few minutes and continue to bake if your cheese isn’t melted enough.

Serve with black beans, refried beans, cilantro lime rice, or a fresh corn salsa. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

