Creamy Tomato Pesto Chicken with Penne

One day I was perusing Pinterest as usual when I came across this recipe from the Southern Girl Cooking blog. It looked good and I had most of the ingredients (recipes are a guideline). So I made it with some changes including more garlic (we love garlic) and  fat free Greek yogurt. I love Greek yogurt too! The fridge usually has a large container of it not just to eat with fruit but to cook with. I even make biscuits with the stuff. So here is where I found the original recipe: http://cdargis.tumblr.com/post/18818836004/garlic-pesto-chicken-with-tomato-cream-penne and here is my recipe. I should note that the chicken should marinate overnight in the garlic pesto mixture but I have made it after marinating for a couple of hours and it was still good.

1/2 bottle of Lawry’s Herb and Garlic Marinade
2 large spoonfuls of Pesto
2 boneless chicken breasts cut into bite size chunks

Marinate overnight or whatever in the fridge. Then cook in a skillet with 2 tablespoons chicken stock granules (or more if you like) until done. I occasionally add a little water if it looks to thick. Use your best judgement. This makes the base for your cream sauce which should end up thick enough to coat the pasta good.

8 ounces of Penne pasta (could be whole wheat or plain) Cooked in a large pot and drained. I then put the pasta back in the large pot after I combine the sauce ingredients in it to mix everything together.

Sauce:

Chicken with base sauce
8 ounces or so of Greek Yogurt (6 works too)
3 or more cloves of garlic minced
2 spoonfuls or more of pesto
1 can tomato paste
Black pepper to taste

My picky kid eats this. Who knew? Pesto? I thought she was going to hate it but she doesn’t complain. Serve it with garlic bread and a caprice salad. Or whatever you have. Sometimes we have plain old bread toasted with butter and garlic salt old school style.

2 thoughts on “Creamy Tomato Pesto Chicken with Penne

  1. You can definitely see your expertise within the work you write. The sector hopes for even more passionate writers such as you who are not afraid to mention how they believe. All the time go after your heart.

Leave a Reply

